OnPoint Community Credit Union Announces 2024 Prize for Excellence in Education Community Builder Winners and Educator of the Year Finalists

Press Release

Five schools will receive cash prizes for special school projects in the 15th annual OnPoint Prize campaign awards

PORTLAND, Ore., May 8, 2024—Five local schools have won the 2024 OnPoint Prize for Excellence in Education Community Builder awards. Each school will receive a cash prize for a special project that positively impacts its school and community.

OnPoint also named the eight finalists for its Educator of the Year awards who are in the running to have their mortgage or rent paid for one full year and receive $2,500 for their school. The four winners in each category (K-5, 6-8, 9-12, and Gold Star) will be announced on May 23, 2024. The remaining four runners-up in each category will receive a $5,000 cash award and a $1,500 donation to their schools for resources and supplies.

“We are humbled by the dedication and passion of the educators and schools nominated this year. Congratulations to all the winners and finalists who are making a lasting impact on the lives of their students and in their communities,” said Rob Stuart, President and Chief Executive Officer, OnPoint Community Credit Union. “It is our honor to recognize their efforts to foster curiosity, inclusivity and academic achievement, both inside and outside the classroom.”

Since 2010, the OnPoint Prize for Excellence in Education has awarded more than $843,000 in prizes to 326 local educators and schools. The 2024 campaign will award an additional $193,000 to deserving K-12 educators and schools.

Learn more about the 2024 Community Builder award winners and Educator of the Year finalists below:


Community Builder Awards
OnPoint has recognized five schools from across the region with its Community Builder awards. Four schools will receive $2,000 from OnPoint for a special project of their choice, and one school determined by online community votes will receive $5,000.

 $5,000 Community Builder Award Winner

 Adams Elementary School is housed in one of the oldest school buildings in the Eugene district. The 1949 building continues to give students an adequate location to learn and grow, but it is greatly lacking expression of the culture and community. The Adams Elementary School Mural Project will not only beautify an external wall of the aged neighborhood school but also give students a chance to express themselves through a large public art piece for the community to share. The wall that has been selected for the project faces the school parking lot and sports fields, so the artwork will be enjoyed by everyone coming to and from the school, including students, staff and neighbors.

$2,000 Community Builder Award Winners

  • Marysville Elementary School: S.T.A.R. (Students’ Temporary Assistance Resource) Pantry (Portland Public Schools, Portland, Ore.) is an initiative that seeks to alleviate the burden of food insecurity and ensure that every student has access to nutritious food. The pantry will provide essential food items and promote a sense of dignity and inclusivity by offering a supportive environment where individuals can access what they need without facing financial barriers.
  • Bear Creek Elementary School: Community Garden (Bend-La Pine Schools, Bend, Ore.) provides students with hands-on experience in planting, sowing and growing food and flowers. Many students will benefit from time outside with a constructive break and get their hands in the dirt. Students will work together and across grade levels, allowing them to interact with more peers who can become allies and mentors.
  • Molalla Elementary School: Outside Learning Oasis (Molalla River School District, Molalla, Ore.) project will create a vibrant outdoor area between the main building and the outdoor music module. This space will serve as a dedicated outdoor learning and enrichment area for students, promoting their mental health and overall well-being.
  • St. Andrew Nativity School: Thriving through Middle School (Portland, Ore.) is an initiative that will equip the school’s counseling center with wellness kits for families experiencing crises and enhance the counseling environment to address the diverse mental health and social-emotional needs of its students.


Educator of the Year Finalists (listed by category, then alphabetically by last name)

OnPoint also named its eight finalists for its 2024 Educators of the Year awards. Winners will have their mortgage or rent paid for one full year and receive $2,500 for each of their schools. The remaining four finalists will receive a $5,000 cash award and a $1,500 donation to their schools for resources and supplies.

K-5 Finalists

  • Roxana Campbell – 1st grade, HOLLA School, Reynolds School District
  • Rachel Hertz – 1st grade, North Star Elementary School, Bend-La Pine Schools

6-8 Finalists

  • Lynda Beauchamp – 6-7th grade Math, Realms Middle School, Bend-La Pine Schools
  • Sherry Reeder – 6-8th grade Special Education, Molalla River Middle School, Molalla River School District

9-12 Finalists

  • Michelle Colbert – 9-12th grade Art and CTE, Fir Ridge Campus, David Douglas School District
  • Andrew Gunsul – 9-10th grade Social Studies, Sunset High School, Beaverton School District

Gold Star Finalists (includes pre-kindergarten teachers, school counselors, substitute teachers, librarians or school administrators)

  • Martine Barnett – Principal, Columbia City Elementary, St. Helens School District
  • Traniece Brown-Warrens – Principal, Markham Elementary School, Portland Public Schools


Click here to learn more about OnPoint’s finalists for the 2024 Educator of the Year awards. Winners and runners-up will be announced on May 23, and the announcement will be broadcast live on KGW.


Honoring Founders’ Legacy of Excellence in Education

Founded by 16 schoolteachers in 1932, OnPoint continues to honor its legacy today by improving access to quality education for everyone. Visit onpointcu.com to learn more.


OnPoint Community Credit Union is the largest credit union in Oregon, serving over 554,000 members and with assets of $9.0 billion. Founded in 1932, OnPoint Community Credit Union’s membership is available to anyone who lives or works in one of 28 Oregon counties (Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Crook, Curry, Deschutes, Douglas, Gilliam, Hood River, Jackson, Jefferson, Josephine, Klamath, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Morrow, Multnomah, Polk, Sherman, Tillamook, Wasco, Washington, Wheeler and Yamhill) and two Washington counties (Skamania and Clark) and their immediate family members. OnPoint Community Credit Union is federally insured by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA). More information is available at www.onpointcu.com or 503-228-7077 or 800-527-3932.


Go to press releases

Note: Email should not be used to share important or sensitive information.

The security and privacy of your information is important to us. When communicating with us via email please do not send any information that is considered confidential or sensitive in nature. If you need to communicate any personal information (account numbers, social security number, etc.) please feel free to call the number listed in my profile or contact OnPoint Member Services at 503.228.7077 or 800.527.3932.



You are leaving OnPoint Community Credit Union.

The website you are about to visit is the responsibility of the party providing the site. Any transactions you enter into through this third-party site are solely between you and that vendor, merchant or other party. OnPoint’s Privacy Policy does not apply to this third-party site, and for further information you should consult the privacy disclosures of this site.



Cancel Accept